Under the most frequently charges traffic infraction, the stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia is most common. A stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia is indicted very commonly as it covers a wide range of offenses under Va. Code “46.2-830”. You can be charged for a stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia, only if the patrol officer can provide evidence that you have not followed an officially set up traffic control device. Any signal or sign that is set up for the purpose to caution or guide the traffic is considered as a traffic control device. However, in order to charge you for a stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia, it is mandatory that the traffic control device is in an appropriate position and clearly visible to the drivers. That is why, if by any chance the sign is obscured in such a manner, which makes the stop sign hard to read, such as being covered by graffiti, you may have a valid defense. In addition to that, a stop sign may no longer be in compliance with the law, if it is not standing anymore, or has dropped over the device.
Failure to yield while entering a highway is another commonly charged stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia. You can be punished with a fine of $250 if there is a stop sign or a yield sign present before entering a public road for stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia. In case you get a traffic ticket for violating a stop sign or a red light in Hanover Virginia, it is most likely that you will be required to pay the fine as well as DMV demerit points will be added against your driving record. Traffic laws of Virginia allows jurisdictions within the state to utilize computerized cameras at the intersections in order to catch anyone who commits red light or stop sign violations. Usually the owner of the vehicle is accountable for paying for the red light camera ticket. However, an owner can defend himself by filing an affirmation in the court stating that he/she was not driving the vehicle at the time of the violation or by submitting a certified police report stating that the car has been stolen.
The maximum fine for a red light camera ticket is $50. On the other hand, the conventional red light violation ticket carries a maximum fine of $350 and stop sign violation is fined for $250. A red light camera ticket will not got to your personal driving record, hence will not have any impact over your insurance rates. However, the conventional red light violation or stop sign violation will not only adds up to your driving record but also add DMV demerit points. If you accumulate a large amount of DMV demerit points, it may lead to the license suspension. Based on the situation, a stop sign violation in Hanover Virginia can be turned into a charge of reckless driving.